April 27, 2017

Divorce Modifications

The divorce attorneys at Doherty, Ciechanowski, Dugan & Cannon often assist clients with modifications to their divorce terms and agreement. As circumstances often change so must the terms of the divorce. Our attorneys are experienced in presenting a request for modification or defending the agreement if the request is inappropriate or unreasonable.

Divorce modifications in Massachusetts may involve matters pertaining to:

  • Child Custody
  • Child Support
  • Alimony
  • Visitation

In Massachusetts judgments relating to child custody, child support and alimony may be changed based upon a showing of a material and substantial change of circumstances. The modification to your divorce agreement and a request to change the custody arrangement or alter a parenting plan may be necessary based on the child’s needs. A party may lose a job and need a reduction of a support order. A custodial parent may remarry and wish to relocate to another state over the objections of the non-custodial parent. In these circumstances, a person may seek the court’s assistance in modifying the current judgment by filing a complaint for modification or the parties can file an agreement for modification with the court for its approval.

Our divorce attorneys represent clients throughout Massachusetts and in every county of Massachusetts including Norfolk County, Suffolk County, Worcester County, Bristol County, Middlesex County, Plymouth County, Hamden County, Essex County and Barnstable County. Our divorce lawyers represent clients in Massachusetts’ largest communities including the cities of Boston, Worcester, Springfield, Lowell, Cambridge, Brockton, New Bedford, Fall River, Lynn, and Quincy.

Our law offices are located in Franklin, MA and serve the Greater Boston MetroWest region and the neighboring towns of Bellingham, Milford, Upton, Hopedale, Holliston, Medway, Millis, Medfield, Norwood, Walpole, Sharon, Foxborough, Wrentham, Easton, Mansfield, North Attleboro, Norton, Plainville, Raynham, Taunton, Attleboro, Seekonk, Rehoboth, Uxbridge, Whitinsville, and Worcester.